fbpx

The OCJC celebrates its first anniversary

Thursday November 12th, 2015

Share :

 

On September 22nd, , the Outaouais Community Justice Centre (OCJC) will celebrate its first anniversary. The OCJC is one of six centres funded by the Quebec Department of Justice to bring justice closer to the population, by offering free information and referral services.

Throughout its first year of operation, the OCJC answered more than 2,300 requests for legal information, both in person and by telephone, and informed 181 citizens through information sessions, workshops and presentations.

The requests received concerned mainly family law (26.6%), general civil law (17.2%), civil procedure (9.3%) and criminal and penal law (7.2%). Also, at least 10% of the requests regarded a situation falling under the jurisdiction of the Small Claims Division of the Court of Quebec. Serving as a genuine gateway to the legal system, the OCJC referred more than 17% of the citizens who asked for its services to an external service or partner organization that could support them in their actions. Finally, 70.9% of the citizens who addressed themselves to the OCJC had an annual income of 60,000.00$ or less

« From the very beginning, the Outaouais Community Justice Centre became an indispensable legal hub in our region, by meeting the information needs of our fellow citizens. I offer my most sincere congratulations to the officers of the Centre and its team and I thank them for the excellence of their contribution toward making justice more accessible”, declared the Minister of Justice, Attorney General of Quebec and Minister responsible for the Outaouais region, Ms. Stéphanie Vallée.

Mr. Normand Auclair, President of the OCJC, is particularly proud of the Centre’s integration in its community: “The OCJC has made a point of reaching out to citizens in different events, including the Gatineau, Outaouais Women’s Show, the Old-Gatineau Community Fair, the Chelsea Community Services and Recreation Fair and the Access to Justice for Elders’ Fair. Moreover, the OCJC offers a weekly legal chronicle on 90.7 FM ICI Radio-Canada Première, as well as a weekly legal column in the B@C Outaouais and on Info 07’s website”, he recalled.

Voici une vidéo récapitulative de cette belle année :

ttp://www.justicedeproximite.qc.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/Equipe_1an_CJPO.png” alt=”Equipe_1an_CJPO” width=”901″ height=”601″ />

Find us on social media

Le CJPO célèbre son premier anniversaire

jeudi 12 novembre 2015

 

Le 22 septembre 2015, le Centre de justice de proximité de l’Outaouais (CJPO) a fêté son premier anniversaire. Le CJPO est le quatrième des six centres financés par le ministère de la Justice du Québec, pour rapprocher la justice de la population en offrant gratuitement des services d’information et d’orientation juridique, à avoir ouvert ses portes.

Au cours de sa première année d’opération, le CJPO a répondu à 2 300 demandes d’information juridique, autant en personne que par téléphone, et a informé 181 personnes par le biais de séances d’information, d’ateliers et de présentations.

Les demandes d’information reçues ont porté principalement sur le droit familial (26,6%), le droit civil général (17,2%), la procédure civile (9,3%) et le droit criminel et pénal (7,2%). De plus, au moins 10% des demandes concernaient une situation relevant de la compétence de la division des petites créances. Véritable porte d’entrée vers le système judiciaire, le CJPO a orienté au-delà de 17% des citoyens qui se sont adressés à lui vers un service ou un organisme partenaire pouvant les soutenir dans leurs démarches. Finalement, 70,9 % des personnes ayant utilisé les services du CJPO avaient un revenu annuel de 60 000,00 $ ou moins.

« Dès ses débuts, le Centre de justice de proximité est devenu un carrefour juridique incontournable dans notre région, en répondant aux besoins d’information de nos concitoyennes et de nos concitoyens. J’offre mes plus sincères félicitations aux membres du conseil d’administration et à l’équipe et je les remercie pour l’excellence de leur contribution en vue de rendre la justice plus accessible », a déclaré la ministre de la Justice, Procureure générale du Québec et ministre responsable de la région de l’Outaouais, Mme Stéphanie Vallée.

Me Normand Auclair, président du CJPO, est particulièrement fier de l’intégration de l’organisme dans sa communauté : « Le CJPO s’est fait un devoir d’aller à la rencontre des citoyens dans divers événements, dont le Salon de la femme, la Foire communautaire du Vieux-Gatineau, le Salon des services communautaires et du loisir de Chelsea et la Foire Accès Justice pour les aînés. De plus, il dispense chaque semaine des chroniques d’information juridique sur les ondes du 90,7 FM ICI Radio-Canada Première, de même que dans le B@C Outaouais et sur le site web d’Info 07 », a-t-il rappelé.

Voici une vidéo récapitulative de cette belle année :

 

Rejoignez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux